Just how long does the process take?

The Luxembourg crest and an EU passport are shown. | Wort.lu

Image courtesy of Wort.lu.

I want to thank everyone who visits this blog and contributes with their own experiences. Recently, I posted a request to the followers of the Wanna-Be Luxembourgers: how long does it take, after you send in the proof of your ancestry, for the Ministry of Justice to process your application?

Well, I got a boatload of answers, all of which were relatively the same. I’m going to bunch them together in this post.

1) Finally there

Submitted on 2013/07/16 at 3:41 pm

I could write up a quick blog post/note about my timeframe. It’s definitely going to take a while – I got my aieul cert back about 2 months after I sent it in, but that was last year when they didn’t have as many applications (and it was also very organized and translated into French). But that is only step one – step two took much longer for me so I can only imagine it’ll take even longer these days…

2) sebastienlux

Submitted on 2013/07/13 at 12:23 pm

Hi There, just so you know I sent my complete application just a few days before Xmas last year and received the certificate that I have a lux. Ancestor in 1900 end of may 2013. I was in the us for 2.5 months and just came back. Will now start part II of the application process!

3) Cristina

Submitted on 2013/05/04 at 10:33 pm

Hi Trevor,
My grandmother was from Luxembourg and I began the process in 2010. The process for the certificate will take about 8-10 months. After you receive it, you will need to go in person and it will take another 8-10 months to get your nationality. As the law is about to expire, they are getting more applications so they have a long line waiting. When you get your nationality approved you can ask for your passport immediately. I already have mine!
C

Submitted on 2013/05/16 at 11:28 pm

I will recommend you to call and ask if all the documents that you sent are correct, that will give you information if you need to send another document. I do not recommend e-mail. They are having a lot of applications from Belgians. After you get the certificate, then you can apply for the nationality. The same day you receive the document that says that you have recovered the nationality, you may go and apply for the passport. Also you will be assigned a social security number with your nationality but you will not know what number it is, in the passport office you can ask for it.

4) Wes

Submitted on 2013/07/10 at 7:38 pm

I just got mine sent off, I splurged on the express mail for 50$. Had a delay with one of the birth certificates that I thought would be easy. I will forever despise county clerks.

******

Yes, Wes, I think we — especially those living in Chicago — will forever despise county clerks.

OK, so I’ve decided to include a recurring section for each of my posts; at the end of each blog post, I will leave you guys with a phrase, word or saying that will be helpful when visiting Luxembourg. Here’s your first!

Mäi Loftkësseboot ass voller Éilen. –> (My hovercraft is full of eels.)

3 thoughts on “Just how long does the process take?

  1. Hello,
    I am hopping you can give me advice regarding the criminal record report we must obtain. I have never lived outside of my home state however, my youngest daughter just returned from a study abroad program in France. She attended a university through a US program for the entire school year. She did not rent an apartment, nor did she hold a job during this time. She regularly attends an out of state university. She is legally considered a resident of her home state, and we have already received her certified records.

    My question is -Is a criminal background check reacquired from these two other locations on top of her home state?
    I want to thank you for your blog. It has proven to be very helpful and I look forward to reading your future posts! Wendy

    • If you do a FBI background check, that will cover everything in the U.S. As far as outside of the country I’m not sure. I wouldn’t think it would be too difficult to get a police report from France. Or you could just call the Luxembourg hotline and ask, I’ve called a couple times now and they do speak English and are very helpful.

    • Hi Wendy, here is my experience, hope this helps! I studied 2 years in the UK and in the UK there is no such thing as a criminal record document that attest you had no issue or whatever. You can eventually get an official document but it takes time and costs money so I asked the Luxembourg authorities if this was really requested for them to have such a doc and they told me that since I was a student then, it was not required! Double check with them, get them to confirm this by mail and hopefully you’ll be ok!

Leave a Reply

