Checking in with fellow Luxembourg-Americans, prospective Luxembourg-Americans

 Moien, y’all.

I doubt people who know of this blog rush to it every time they log onto the Internet, but I wanted to at least inform whatever following I have as to why I’ve been neglecting this blog.

First, I still haven’t heard back from anyone in Luxembourg regarding my application, which means providing updates on this blog is near impossible. But that’s OK; it’s a bureaucratic process, and I understand it takes a while for these things to be processed. Perhaps I’ll receive a bit of good news around Christmas time, and then I can plan a European trip for the spring or summer — my first trip to Europe, by the way, meaning the first time I set foot on European soil, I will become a European citizen. I will stop being a wanna-be Luxembourger and finally become a dual-citizen of the Grand Duchy.

Second, life. Yes, life can, well, be preoccupying. Many great things have occurred recently.

Of these great things put in chronological order, the first was my girlfriend, Sarah, being hired as a media and advertising intern with the Kennedy Center for the Performing Arts. Also, she recently started a blog about urban gardening in the District of Columbia; you should check it out.

Image

Second, we adopted two kittens, Maytag and Mimi. They spend their days meowing, clawing at our furniture and making a mess. They’re also really entertaining, and it’s nice to have their company when Sarah or I are away from each other for extended periods of time.

2013-07-05 21.36.57-2

Third, I landed a new job at a political journalism organization in Arlington, Virginia. My first day is on Monday, and I cannot wait to start.

So, with these most recent developments, devoting time to covering Luxembourg events and my citizenship application will take a backseat to my newest adventures. However, I want to keep myself focused on learning more about my ancestral culture. I will post at least twice a week on news in the Grand Duchy, as well as suggest books, art, music and food that might entice the senses of any wanna-be or recently nationalized Luxembourg-Americans.

Also, please do not hesitate when in comes to sending me information, ideas for blog posts or your own stories. This blog isn’t just about me; it’s about us, the wanna-be Luxembourg community in the United States. We have a unique tie to one another, and we should aggregate our stories so we can learn from one another’s experiences.

And with that said, I’m going to visit an intersection in my neighborhood where a street is called Capitalsaurus Court because a dinosaur vertebra was found there.

Schéinen Dag nach! (Have a good day!)

7 thoughts on “Checking in with fellow Luxembourg-Americans, prospective Luxembourg-Americans

  1. I just got mine sent off, I splurged on the express mail for 50$. Had a delay with one of the birth certificates that I thought would be easy. I will forever despise county clerks. I can’t wait to get back to Europe, I’ve been counting down the days from the first time I left. Are you about two months in on your application?

    • County clerks can be a royal pain in the rear end. Try dealing with county clerks in Chicago, Cook County, where my Luxembourg ancestors have lived since moving from Europe. It’s horrendous! I sent mine about two months ago. Have you been to Luxembourg? I’ve never been to Europe, so this project is really my impetus to visit.

      • I’ve been England, Germany, and Austria. Unfortunately at the time I thought my family was all from Germany, turns out none of them were. All from Luxembourg. It was an amazing experience being in Europe, we stayed in hostels the entire trip and met a lot of people from all over the world. I couldn’t believe how many people were spending 6 months to a year just traveling. This next trip, I’m planning on 2-3 weeks, fly into London ( London is awesome), take the rail to France, then Belgium and Luxembourg. Hop on a short flight to Munich, then rail to Salzburg, Vienna, and fly home from Switzerland.

  2. Hi There, just so you know I sent my complete application just a few days before Xmas last year and received the certificate that I have a lux. Ancestor in 1900 end of may 2013. I was in the us for 2.5 months and just came back. Will now start part II of the application process!

    • Thank you so much for this timeframe. It gives me a better idea of how much time I will have to wait. I’m assuming my waiting period will be a little bit longer than yours, as it appears that more people are taking this opportunity to apply for dual-citizenship, and they’ll probably have more applications to review. Good luck with everything!

  3. I could write up a quick blog post/note about my timeframe. It’s definitely going to take a while – I got my aieul cert back about 2 months after I sent it in, but that was last year when they didn’t have as many applications (and it was also very organized and translated into French). But that is only step one – step two took much longer for me so I can only imagine it’ll take even longer these days…

    • Your remarks mirror those of everyone who has updated me with their application statuses. I’m going to work on a post tonight so that others have a sense of how long it might take.

Leave a Reply

