Celebrated Easter the Luxembourg way by being Catholic

I decided I would attend one of the Easter masses at the Basilica of the National Shrine to the Immaculate Conception. Why? As mentioned in a previous post, 95 percent of Luxembourg is Catholic. So I thought I’d continue my cultural immersion and check out the noon service at the Basilica.

The Basilica is gorgeous. I wanted to explore the alcoves and art, but the swarms of churchgoers prevented me from doing so. I’ll have to go back at an off time.

The Washington Brass Symphonic Quintet accompanied the choir. Callista Gingrich, the wife of former Speaker of the House Newt Gingrich, is a member of the choir. Newt stood in the front row, and I saw him take communion when I was exiting the building; I usually take communion when I’m in service with the Catholic members of the extended Eischen clan, but today’s program had a stern message about non-Catholics taking communion that scared me away from participating.

The Archbishop of Washington, Cardinal Donald Wuerl, led the mass. He talked about his recent trip to Vatican City to elect Pope Francis.

Afterward, I got off the train at NoMa to buy a bucket of fried chicken and a $5 bottle of wine.

Now that’s what I call a classy way of celebrating the resurrection of Jesus.

Happy Easter, or, as they say in Luxembourg, Schéin Ouschteren!

2013-03-31 11.36.53

2013-03-31 11.37.02

I inadvertently gave the Lucille Bleuth wink in this photo.

2013-03-31 11.47.21

Leave a Reply

