I have all the documents I need (not really)

This is the giant binder in which I store all of my documents for this project.

This is the giant binder in which I store all of my documents for this project.

I’ve been trying my best to keep the subject of each post related to the Grand Duchy and not some other bizarre aspect of my life. But today, I can actually say that I have all the paperwork to apply for dual-citizenship … sort of.

I actually have two documents remaining. Sure, I just blatantly lied in the first paragraph, but whatever. Compared to how long it took to find everything, getting these two documents should be cake. All I need to request is a copy of my own freakin’ birth certificate, as well as a certified copy of my passport from the State Department; I’m assuming the processing period for this passport copy request isn’t too long, but I could be completely wrong. Could any of the followers of this blog let me know how long this took for them?

For followers of this blog who are also at this stage or will be soon, here is a link to the information page on how to obtain a certified copy of a passport from the Department of State.

But once I finally, finally, FINALLY get these two documents, I can send everything into the Ministry of Justice.

In other news, I’m moving into a new place in Washington. English Basement on E Street, here I come. It’ll be nice not having mice scurrying on top of my kitchen countertops and feasting on half a loaf of bread, as well as an unheated first floor, a hole in the second-floor ceiling, indoor air pollution and a landlord who claims he was a former employee with the CIA.

My new home, which needs a massive gardening makeover in the front (maybe a bed of flowers that, from an aerial view, spells out "HILLARY 2016"?).

My new home, which needs a massive gardening makeover in the front (maybe a bed of flowers that, from an aerial view, spells out “YOLO”?).

Leave a Reply

