My last records request to the Cook County Clerk

This is the last records request I’ll be sending to the Cook County Clerk.

photo

After sending in Great-grandma Theresa Marie Eischen née Pinnel’s records request, Sarah and I went on a 2-mile run on the National Mall. And, for some reason, this picture makes it look like I have a seriously intense right moob.

Once I have all the records, I must hire an official translator to translate them ALL into French or German.

And then … I send in my application to the Luxembourg Ministry of Justice.

This good news merits some hard frolicking.

froluc

8 thoughts on “My last records request to the Cook County Clerk

  1. Hey man, I am an American going through the reacquisition process of Lux nationality as well. I wonder if you have spoken to any of the case managers at the Service de l’Indigénat yet? If not, you really ought to call l’Infoline Nationalité. I don’t know if they speak English, so hopefully you speak German/French/know someone. But I have spoken to them several times. They’re absolutely lovely people. The head case manager told me we don’t need to translate documents in English for the Le Certificat Relatif à L’aieul Luxembourgeois. Only for your birth certificate and criminal record when you arrive in Luxembourg to sign the recouvrement de nationalité papers. I am sending my documents tomorrow.

    • But you still need to translate the documents into German and French, correct? I’m pretty sure that’s part of the process. Most of my documents are in English. The few that I have in German don’t need to be translated, of course.

  2. I know that it sounds confusing, as the documentation is ambiguous at best. But I spoke to Mme Natacha Block, the intermediary case manager of the Service of the Indigenous, three weeks ago via the phone and she said quite clearly that certificates in English do not need to be translated for the first round that you send by post. I even recorded the call as proof, because I didn’t believe it was true at first. Your birth certificate and American criminal record have to be translated into French/German for the second round when you go to Luxembourg, as they are then put in the national registry of Luxembourg. If you do a search of the internet on dual Luxembourg nationality, you’ll see several other people mention that they didn’t have to translate documents for the first round. Or, just give the infoline a call and reconfirm. Cheers.

    • Wow, thanks Daniel. This is very helpful. If you have any other information, whether it’s audio of phone calls or email correspondence, I’d love to post some of it on my blog. Once I get some free time, I’m hoping to make a page devoted solely to important documents, videos and other things that will help other people with their application. Feel free to contact me at trevoreischen1714@gmail.com.

      Best,
      Trevor

  3. I can confirm that documents in English do not need to be translated into German or French for the certificat. Only documents for the actual request for renaturalization, that you will do after you received the certificat, will need to be in either of the two languages.
    That’s our personal experience.

  4. Hi,

    As I’ve just posted earlier here, I am grateful for Daniel A and Chris sharing this information with readers. Thank you! And thanks to Trevor for this great blog where such info can be shared. Much appreciated!

Leave a Reply

